Running and Camping

Posted: September 15, 2013 in Camping, Diary, Holiday, Running
Tags: , , ,

Each year, we try to schedule a family camping trip. We all enjoy being together in the great outdoors and exploring a new area. The kids like to make new friends and have a greater degree of freedom to play.
This year, we booked a week at a campsite on the Somerset levels, an area steeped in history and legend – King Arthur, Alfred the Great, The Holy Grail and the witch of Wookey Hole. I’ll post a separate note on the camping trip.

Even though we “Glamp” with a luxurious tent, an electric hook-up and heater for cold nights and mornings, it’s generally “harder work” than staying in your house with “all mod cons”. My challenge, after the recent over-training episode was to carry on running but without over-reaching and recovering properly.

Kit

I stuck with the basic kit I took on holiday to spain (see Carry on running… abroad!). I added a lightweight waterproof and swapped the road shoes for trail shoes.

Logistics

As we tend to all be woken earlier in a tent due to the sun rise, early morning runs were out. This made it harder to schedule. I decided to go for an evening run just before our evening meal. I also brought some protein shake powders as usually I had to cook the evening meal and wasn’t allowed in the tent until I had a shower!
These worked well, I chose the High 5 brand that come in individual sachets. Halfords were doing a special half-price offer. I wouldn’t want to buy them at full price!

After a run, I mixed up the shake (using a 99p sport direct shaker) with water. After drinking, I headed to the washing block to wash the shaker out and hit the shower.

Lessons Learned
  1. My running kit dried after a rinse in the tent extension each night. Not sure if this would work in colder, damper weather.
  2. The Somerset levels are not all level! Some short sharp hills were surprisingly hard
  3. Like Spain, running is slow at times due to navigating in unfamiliar territory. The longer runs turned into speed-work and hill sessions punctuated with map reading stops.
  4. The running improved my sleep and rest periods – as did a few glasses of wine or local cider before bed!
  5. The recovery shakes tasted great and apparently helped with carb and protein intake.
  6. A running waist pack would have been a good idea to carry the map, etc.
Leave a Reply

