Opinion: Rock Progression? Vinyl to MP3

Posted: March 31, 2012 in Diary, Music
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I just watched a documentary on BBC4 (Prog Rock Britannia ) about progressive rock music.

King Crimson

King Crimson (Photo credit: Cletus Awreetus)

It awakened lots of memories from my time at university. This was well after prog rock was (accroding to the documentary) supposed to have died off into a set of sub-genres like “neo-prog”. My housemates and I were fascinated by the stories the music had to tell and the influences of the music of the time. I spent yesterday evening going through my music collection and realised that I no longer owned most of the classic prog rock that I did in uni. This was largely because the cheapest way to buy music was on vinyl from second hand shops and record fairs. Not sure where the “record collection” is now and I don’t have kit to play it. I suppose that to rediscover King Crimson, Yes and Jethro Tull, I’ll have to go and buy them on a more modern format.

I have never bought MP3s but have digitised my collection of CDs. I suppose I like the feeling of owning something, not just the right to listen to something. Those old vinyl records are another example of this – the gate fold sleeves were works of art. It’s difficult to capture that in a CD booklet, let alone a downloaded bitmap of the front cover!

So last night I listened to a whole bunch of stuff I did have on CD – Pink Floyd, Wishbone Ash, Rainbow, Jefferson Airplane, Led Zepplin and Cream. It was great, accompanied with some scotch and a bag of peanuts.

Leave a Reply

