The Hara and the Wii Fit

Posted: April 22, 2012 in Aikido, Diary
Tags: , , , ,

I was given a Wii Fit for Christmas. So far its been good, its improved my posture, helped me to lose some ineffective weight and build some strength up to the point that I felt like taking up a martial art again.

Wii Fit

Wii Fit (Photo credit: mdelamerced)

I owe a lot to the Wii fit! The Wii Fit measures your balance when you do the body test as well as your weight. I don’t do too badly usually on the balance tests, but every once in a while it asks you to close your eyes. This is where I lose it. I find that I need a visual reference to keep still.

Today, I had a break through. It asked me to close my eyes and I tried to “centre myself”. I concentrated on my hara and my “one point” in my midsection. I didn’t lock my knees or think about balance, I just concentrated on “the centre”. Guess What?

It worked!! The Wii Fit Plus said I was dead centre! Better than most times with my eyes open. I tried it again to see if it was a fluke and despite nagging kids and chaos all around it worked again! I’ll give it a go again tomorrow, but hopefully that’s contributed to my Aikido core.

Leave a Reply

