Mental block

Posted: May 12, 2012 in Aikido, Diary
Tags: , , ,

植芝盛平(Ueshiba Morihei, 1883 - 1969)

Last night I suffered a total mental block. I couldn’t recall how to do hardly any of the techniques I have learnt over the last month or so.  I think this is because my mind is on other things. A mixture of work issues,  family and other commitments are all colliding in the next few weeks. To be honest I don’t know where I am at the moment. With the impending up-evil I may not be able to train from the next four weeks. That’s about as long as I have been studying Aikido. Sometimes a break from something can help to reinforce understanding. See my post on creative problem solving. In the engineering world, this can lead to gold plating and wastes of time, effort and money. My worry here is that after about a month of training the same period without training may wreck the small amount of progress I have made so far. Solo practice is always a possibility, but reinforcement of the wrong way to do things is no good either.

Off course, I may be over thinking this too much – Aikido is a relaxation activity. There is no schedule or deadline to hit. The only competition is with myself

“There are no contests in the Art of Peace. A true warrior is invincible because he or she contests with nothing. Defeat means to defeat the mind of contention that we harbor within. ”
Morihei Ueshiba

Comments
  1. skorpen says:

    That mental block is probably a sign of progress… most aikidoka I know experience the same thing, especially when gearing up for testing. Four weeks is a long time to be away, but don’t be to discouraged. Solo practice and visualization of the techniques you know is helpful, even if you’re making mistakes–you can break those bad habits the *next* time you forget and relearn everything. %)

    • Thanks for taking the time to read my blog and for leaving a comment. I’ll take your advice and try to do some solo practice if I end up travelling. I did make a session this evening and it was one of the best so far so your probably right about making progress. This has to be one of the hardest thing I have tried to master, more so than judo or jitsu. Once again, thanks for the encouragement. It’s very welcome!

Leave a Reply

