Core stability

Posted: August 6, 2012 in Aikido, Diary
Tags: , , , ,

It’s time for another enforced break from Aikido. Its only two weeks, so what do I do? I was looking on you-tube for some bokken and Jo exercises and found some stuff from “urbanhippy” based in Canada.

His videos are quite clear, but not what I was looking for. However, I was intrigued by some of his other productions like the simple core stability exercises.

http://www.urbanhippy.ca/core/strength/exercises

Core stability is important in lots of sports and Aikido is all about developing a strong centre. I injured my lower back quite badly a few years ago. Improving the core should help with protecting it, improve my balance and centre. It may also come in handy if I go back to do more judo.

On that subject, Brian Jacks was the subject of conversation today at work. A few of the lads recalled his feats on superstars (as well as the tatami) including the squats, press ups, etc. I then found the following link on hippyurban’s site:

http://hundredpushups.com/

But how do I know that these techniques are working?

“If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.” , Lord Kelvin.

After some research, it looks like measuring core stability is achieved by using an assistant to observe incorrectly performed exercises. Or I could use the Wii fit plank test challenge!

Leave a Reply

