Aikido Runs On

Posted: November 4, 2012 in Aikido, Diary, Running
Tags: , , , ,

Just realised that I have not posted on Aikido in a while due to a combination of work and other commitments getting in the way once more. I have been lucky to make a single session in a week instead of the usual 2 sessions over the past 2 months.  I also missed the winter course.

To keep active away from the dojo, I’ve been running for short sessions during breaks and after work.  This fits in better with my other sacrosanct commitments more easily. I can see improvements already in my stamina and endurance over the last few weeks.

I am mindful that there is an opportunity to take an Aikido  grading in January and would really like to progress to 5th kyu (or even 4th!). Not sure this will happen though without some extra practice. I have just started reading the Dynamic Sphere, hopefully that will help and not confuse…

I’ll also drop some more posts on how the running is progressing, possibly with some retrospectives. A friend has persuaded me to sign up for a 5K in December. This is a good goal to work at. I can do 5k already with a mix of running and walking. My goal is to run it all and achieve a respectable time.

Leave a Reply

